Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Falcons: Part I

On to Falcons.

There are five Falcons common to the United States: American Kestrel, Merlin, Crested Caracara, Peregrine, and Prairie. The Gyrfalcon is a rare visitor to the northern states in the lower 48, but more common in Alaska. The Aplomado Falcon once roamed the southern parts of Arizona, New Mexico, and Texas, but had disappeared entirely for many years. It has recently been introduced  in Texas, and hopefully will regain its original territory.

Here then are the Falcons, starting with the American Kestrel:

American Kestrel Male

American Kestrel Female

No comments:

Post a Comment